Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | April 19, 2008

Fresh Fruit Tart

So I decided to try a fresh fruit tart. I’ve never made one before, but the fruit always looks so delectable and shiny! I followed a recipe in The New Now and Zen Epicure. The crust was based on almond meal, looked very pretty, but tasted pretty bland.

I opted to skip the custardy bottom, and stick with only fresh fruit with the glaze. I sliced my strawberries and kiwis and then glazed (a lot) with Apricot Preserves.

I was rewarded with pretty, shiny fruit that looked alot like what I see in the stores. I think I will try a different crust next time and possibly the custard just as a comparison flavor.

Responses

  1. zap! the fruit is now my wall paper — its so pretty!

  2. It did come out pretty! I’ve got some sorbet in the works with some different fresh fruits. I’m excited to see if they are as pretty.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

