Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | April 15, 2008

Recycled Spagetti

Also on the menu last night was homemade pasta from Bryanna Clark Grogan. I followed her recipe, only deviating to add some seasonings – Thyme & Basil – because they are some of my favorite. It is one my kitchen helper’s favorite activities to help roll out the dough & noodles. We have a hand crank pasta maker that is super easy to use.

The sauce began by recycling a Veganomicon dinner from the night before, Eggplant Potato Moussaka with Pine Nut Cream Sauce. I have never made a Moussaka before and unfortunately I did not take any pictures (especially since it looked so pretty!) The Moussaka was an attempt to incorporate eggplant into food as I have never been particularly fond of eggplants. I think rubbing it with salt and allowing it to sit really took out some of the bitterness I don’t like. Roasting the slices before using them also allowed it to be palatable for me. I am not sure if I just couldn’t taste them, or my palate has graciously allowed me to incorporate eggplant for the moment. I diced up some of the leftovers, added it to a sauté of onions, garlic, mushrooms, tomatoes and Julie Hanson’s much acclaimed Spicy Italian Sausage. Not only was it delicious, but my kitchen sidekick really had fun and felt like she was a big helper. There was lots of self congratulatory high -fives and exclaiming about what a great job we were doing making pasta =)

Leave a Reply

Categories

