Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | April 22, 2008

Sorbet

I have never made sorbet before, but it turns out it is really easy! I made a sugar syrup by boiling equal parts of sugar and water for a couple minutes. After boiling, I allowed it to cool overnight. I don’t think you have to wait overnight, just cool completely. Then you start mixing up your taste concoctions. Munchkin and I had a plethora of fruit that we wanted to use. The method was the same for all the fruits except the raspberry. We added some amount of fresh fruit to the blender with squeezes of fresh lemon juice and spoonfuls of sugary syrup. When it tasted good, we poured it into tupperware and added to the freezer. We cooked the raspberries on the stove with the syrup and then added the lemon after it was done. I was unable to strain the raspberry seeds as I could not find a single straining implement in my folks house that was suitable (I did try several things, but they were total failures – who knew that sorbet would be too thick to strain through a coffee filter =) The seeds really weren’t a problem though and did not affect our enjoyment at all.

Eventually when everything was frozen, I took it out and blended it in the blender one more time (I read something on the internet about the proper making of sorbet, but I kind of forget the point.) We refroze everything one more time and voila – sensational! My only two notes are: 1 -we used too much lemon in the kiwi. The kiwi was tart enough on its own, so we should have upped our sugar or downed our lemon, and 2 – the orange never completely froze. It was slushy and sweet and yummy, but did not freeze solidly.

Sadly, my cooking methods involve a little bit of this and that, a sprinkle here or a pinch there. This means I can’t give you measurements on anything. I used 1 cup of water and 1 cup of sugar to begin and this made 1/2 – 1 cup servings of each fruit. These are so simple, your tongue can guide you!

Blueberry Sorbet:

Orange Sorbet:

Kiwi Sorbet:

Strawberry Sorbet: (the Raspberry looked identical)

Banana Sorbet:

Responses

  1. i am obsessed with sorbet! even more so now after seeing all these beautiful sorbets!! I esp like the idea of a kiwi sorbet!!!

  2. I’ve never made it before, but it was really simple. The kiwi was fantastic, although I would use a lighter hand with the lemon next time =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

