Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | April 22, 2008

Vegan Buttermilk Pancakes

Breakfast was a success. I had the good sense to hide the delicious strawberry cupcakes (see previous post), so munchkin forgot all about them by breakfast. Then I delivered a yummy buttermilk pancake and she headed off to school with a full belly and a powdered sugar smile!

I made these on the fly, so I don’t have exact measurements for you. It began with a mix of soy milk and apple cider vinegar (the buttermilk). Next up was a dash of oil and vanilla plus some amounts of baking soda, whole wheat flour, spelt flour, buckwheat flour and white flour. When it looked like the proper consistency and tasted good, I cooked it in a cast iron skillet until golden brown. YUM!

Responses

  1. Vegan pancakes and a fellow Alaskan blogger – you made my day! (-:

  2. I’d wager we are in the minority around here =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

