Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | April 23, 2008

Mock Tuna Salad with Millet

Millet in a tuna salad? Not tofu or chickpeas? Well, if I am working under full disclosure, I had some left from the Toasted Milled Salad of the night before. I don’t think the texture was as good as some mushed up chickpeas, but the flavor is spot on! I simply love the recipe I used, although I am NOT fanatical about measuring and certainly not above dropping in extra items (like flakes of nori.) This recipe comes from Jacqueline and is posted at fatfree.com, Low-Fat Vegan Tuna Salad. Here is my slight adaptation:

*Vegan ‘Tuna’ Salad (low fat)*

Ingredients

10.5 oz Mori-Nu (1% fat, extra firm) silken tofu (1 box)

1 or 2 15oz cans of chickpeas

2 T 1/4 cup finely grated carrot (I also add diced celery)

1 2 heaping T of minced sweet pickle (or relish)

1 T 1/3 cup minced red onion

3 T vegan fatfree/lowfat mayonaise -sometime I cut this with tofu and then use a bit more toasted sesame oil

2 T nutritional yeast

1 T fresh lemon juice

1 T low-sodium tamari

2 T fresh chopped parsley

2 t dried dill

1 t prepared yellow T sweet hot mustard

1 t Dijon mustard

1/4 t onion powder

1/8 t garlic powder 4 – 6 cloves of pressed garlic

1/8 t Hungarian paprik

a pinch of turmeric, thyme and marjoram (and sage, oregano, basil)

fresh cracked black pepper, to taste

salt, to taste

Optional: a few drops of cayenne sauce, for heat

a few drops of roasted sesame oil or tahini, to taste – a MUST

a little kelp or dulse, to add a ‘sea’ flavour – another MUST, althought I do not use too much as it gets to fishy for my tastebuds =)

Directions:

Mash the chickpeas until the right consistency is reached. Add the remaining ingredients and mix well, adjusting seasonings to taste. Chill overnight before serving, to allow flavours to blend (Yeah, Right)

While this is tastier the next day, it only works as a left-over. I can’t prepare food that I won’t be eating until the next day@!

Responses

  1. Awesome! An mock tuna salad for the tofu averse! I really don’t like tofu very much (or tempeh or seitan, and I’m a vegan, weird I know).

    Thanks so much for the recipe!

  2. It must be a lot of work trying to sub for tofu, tempeh and seitan =) I thought the millet was good, but this recipe is fantastic with chick peas!

  3. Am I crazy or do I just not see the millet? Did you put it in the tuna salad?

  4. Yep – the millet IS the salad. It’s hard to tell, ’cause it’s all dressed up =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

