Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | April 28, 2008

Aztec Salad

I have been having loads of fun with The Candle Cafe’s multitude of salads. I repeat my earlier observation that they use too much oil for my liking, but the flavors are amazing and some of their techniques as well. This salad has loads of components that are not difficult to make, but added up to lots of time. I would certainly not attempt to make this during the week, but over a leisurely Saturday it came together just fine.

I started off the day making the roasted tomato vinaigrette. I wanted to give it lots of time to marinate in its own juices as the flavors usually intensify over time. It was really good and the chipotle pepper variation had a delicious kick.

Next up was the quinoa salad which was a really tasty addition to the overall salad. It had quinoa, bell peppers, fresh corn and onions. Really nice.

Phase 3 (yes, I had to divide the salad into phases =) included toasting chili-flavored pumpkin seeds.

The pièce de résistance of this meal was definitely the grilled barbecue tempeh. The tempeh preparation was fantastic. It is set and then cooked in a DELICIOUS marinade. I would have probably been happy stopping here (but I am really, really, really glad I didn’t.) There is a spicy chipotle barbeque sauce that was done in one of the (many) other phases. After the tempeh was baked in the marinade and cooled, I sauced it up & then grilled it on both sides. This salad was not only beautiful to plate, but was like a little Mariache band in my mouth =) MMMmmmm, grilled tempeh. I can’t wait to cook something else that calls for tempeh.

Leave a Reply

Categories

