Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | April 28, 2008

Eggplant Walnut Pate

 

So, I’m working on trying to like different veggies more.  Eggplant – blech.  Something about cubes of day old, cold eggplant that just sticks in my craw…. However, I’m trying to give peace eggplant a chance.  So I saw this on somebody’s web site. I couldn’t remember where, so I did a search and found this recipe which I modified 

Ingredients

  • 1 eggplant
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 2 teaspoons fresh ginger root
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/8 tsp ground allspice
  • Salt and hot pepper sauce to taste

Directions

  1. Slice eggplant into slices slices about 1/3-1/2 inch thick.
  2. Sprinkle slices with sea salt and let sit for 15 minutes (you can rinse or not)
  3. Roast the slices 20-30 minutes turning 1/2 way through.
  4. When eggplant is finished add with all other ingredients to food processor until smooth.
  5. Season to taste with the salt, and hot pepper sauce
  6. Chill until firm.
It was tasty. I’m not sure eggplant and I will be skipping through the tulips together anytime soon, but I could definitely eat it in this form!!
Responses

  1. i like to add a little squeeze of lemon to my eggplant pate and a pinch of two of sugar – it kind of brings it all together! i am also not a huge eggplant fan, but i agree with you on liking it this way! yay!

  2. Thanks for the tip! I’ll have to give it a try.


Leave a Reply

Categories

