Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | April 28, 2008

Fruit Tart, redux

So my first fruit tart didn’t come out as good as I had hoped. Pretty – Yes, tasty – not as much. So here I went again. This time I went for a crust I know I like the pecan, oatmeal, whole wheat pasty flour combo, which I cooked for 10 minutes.

Then I went a little crazy and made the lemon curd from The Conscious Kitchen. I modified the original by not straining the lemon juice, swapping cornstarch for arrowroot (because I was out) and reducing the amount in the recipe.

Vegan Lemon Curd

2 lemons, zested and then juiced
1 cup water
½ cup cane sugar
2 tablespoons cornstarch
½ cup soy creamer

  1. Zest and juice the lemons into a saucepan.
  2. Add water and sugar and stir until the sugar has dissolved.
  3. Allow the mixture to steep for at least an hour.
  4. Heat the lemon water and whisk the cornstarch and the soy creamer together.
  5. When the lemon water begins to steam, just before boiling, add the cornstarch mixture and whisk until it thickens.

The result was a very beautiful, not overly sweet fruit tart. I decided not to mix in the cream cheese because I wanted to see how it tasted. The next one I will mix. I put a layer of apricot preserves on the crust and then poured in the lemon curd. I put this in the fridge to set for several hours. Then I topped with fruit and brushed on a glaze of heated apricot preserves and water. It was really yummy and pretty light and definitely not too sweet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

