Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | May 5, 2008

Reuben Sandwich

This one took a lot of prep for all the components, but it was totally worth it!  I found the recipe in one of my new cookbooks The Real Food Daily Cookbook: Total Reuben with Thousand Island Dressing.  WOW, It was fantastic.  It was a new way for making tempeh for me and it was really, really good. After marinating, they are broiled in the oven on each side. I’m not sure if it was corned beef or pastrami, but whatever it was was terrific! They came out so crispy, and delicious!  

 

 

The Thousand Island dressing was made with a recipe for homemade ketchup. I’ve never made it before but it was really tasty and the dressing was AMAZING!! I made it ahead of time to let the flavors intensify, but I had to have a little bowl with veggies for lunch. I just couldn’t wait!!


 

 A tofu ricotta got in on the act.  It sounded strange to put ricotta on a Reuben, but it was not. It was good!

 


 

I also made this recipe for George’s Light Rye Bread. Yum!  Here’s the final sandwich right before it went in my mouth! I can’t wait to have another for lunch.

 

 

Responses

  1. Wowsa! What a meal. I love the homemade bread and vegan thousand island! I bet the dressing would be really good on a veggie or bean burger (especially black bean!).

  2. It was all good, but the dressing was fantastic!! It would be delicious on any number of things.


Leave a Reply

Categories

