Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | May 13, 2008

Broccoli Red Pepper Wasabi Quiche

A bit of an experiment happened. I had some Wasabi Almonds from the store that were really good, and I was trying to think of something to cook with them. I decided to use them in a crust for a quiche. I mixed equal parts of Wasabi Almonds, Oatmeal and Whole Wheat Pasty Flour together in a food processor. I added some oil and water until it started to resemble crust consistency and then pressed into my single serve dishes (I made 4).

For the insides I sauteed onions, garlic, mushrooms and red pepper. I added this to a mixture of soft, silken tofu and grated horseradish root.

For the topping I carmelized some onions and mushrooms. I tossed the whole thing in the oven for 35 minutes. I allowed it to set up (although it was plenty firm) for 10 minutes and then served. It was amazing!~ Definitely not as spicy as I thought it would be with the Wasabi and Horseradish, but still great.

Responses

  1. This looks an sounds amazing–and is something I never would’ve thought of. I might have to give it a try myself!

  2. It WAS really good!

  3. This looks and sounds wonderful. Very creative, and I love wasabi, I wish I could think of more uses for it.

  4. If I ever buy a food processor and find wasabi almonds, I will cook this. It looks amazing!

  5. It worked great and the wasabi was a nice kick. The best part is you can use whatever veggies you like the most.

  6. They say that real men don’t eat quiche, but if you jam in the wasabi I’ll bet real men may even cry eating that dish. It sounds delicious, and if I can get my spouse to agree to eating some with me, I may just whip some up. Yeah!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

