Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | May 14, 2008

Spinach Jicama Salad with Orange Avocado Vinaigrette

So I have been eating more raw foods lately to see how I like it. The idea sounds interesting, but I don’t know if I can give up some of my favorite vegan foods (like tempeh, bread and cupcakes =) Anyhoo – I made the best salad for lunch. It had baby spinach, cauliflower, carrots, tomatoes, red onion, jicama, walnuts and fresh oregano. The dressing was truly delicious! I made a take-off on Ani Phyo’s Orange Vinaigrette. I didn’t have an actual orange, so I subbed in orange juice. I used 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 grapeseed oil. I subbed red miso for white. I upped the garlic and ginger and for the glorious finale I put one avocado and a handful of pine nuts in my blender. MMMMMmmmmmmm! It had a nice citrus tang and by the time lunch rolled around, the ginger and garlic gave it a yummy tangy bite. It was amazing! I am so glad it was salad, so I will be hungry again soon and can have some more =)

Responses

  1. Ok, this looks fantastic! I love jicama, and finally saw some at the store! Mmmm, citrusy and loaded with some of my very favorite things (avocado, jicama, orange, spinach and tomatoes!)

  2. It was great! I really enjoyed the crazy (almost fluorescent) green color of the dressing =) Best of all, it only took a few minutes to whip it all together.

  3. WOW… im an avocado freak so this is definatly for me!!!! sounds amazing!!!!!

  4. Loved it!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

