Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | June 2, 2008

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Burrito

The urge to make black bean and sweet potato burritos overtook me. I found this recipe at Planet Organics.

Mine worked out to the following –

Fresh Mango Salsa

1 mangoes
1 red onion
1 orange pepper
1 lime
1 T cilantro
3 jalapeno peppers
pinch of sea salt

1 tomato

I diced all the veggies, then put a small handful in the blender with the lime juice. I added the juice back to the bowl and put in the fridge to chill.

Sweet Potatoes
2 T orange juice
2 sweet potatoes

I diced up the sweet potato and put in a cast iron skillet with 1 T coconut oil and the OJ. I cooked them with the lid on over medium heat until they were soft.

Spicy Black Beans

2 cans black beans
2 tbsp minced garlic
1 yellow onion
3 jalapenos
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp coriander
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp chile powder
1 tsp coconut oil

Again – I diced all the ingredients and added everything (except the beans) to a cast iron skillet and cooked for about 10 minutes over med heat. When the onions were soft, I added the black beans and let everything simmer until it was ready.

I also whipped up a key-lime sour cream and some spicy guacamole (with red pepper flakes, celtic sea salt, cracked pepper and lime juice) to add.

The grocery store had a new brand of tortilla (can’t remember what it was) but it had olive oil instead of shortening. I got one bag of Tomato Basil and one bag of Rosemary. A delicious and filling meal!

Responses

  1. my mouth is watering right now!

    great fotos!

    this looks amazing!

    /F/T/

  2. Thanks! It definitely hit the spot!


Leave a Reply

Categories

