Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | June 10, 2008

Strawberry Lemonade Pie

This random goodness occured when I was veganizing this recipe from Baking Bites. I also pulled inspiration from the vegan Bible Veganomicon‘s Lemon Bars. I subbed in a crust that the family likes and the last piece of the recipe was a complete accident that occurred when I read an unrelated recipe and mistakenly added applesauce to the mix. While all of that was so random it should have been a disaster, the result was a crazy sweet crust and a beautiful fruity, sour filling. It was fantastic!

The crust was equal parts oatmeal, chopped pecans and brown sugar mixed with vegan butter. I pressed the crust into a tart pan and cooked at 350 for 15 minutes.

The filling was made by soaking agar and water for 30 minutes. I cooked on medium heat until the agar was totally dissolved, and the mixture was thickening. In the blender I mixed strawberries, lemon, lemon zest, sugar, applesauce, sea salt and arrowroot powder. I added this to the agar mixture, cooked this for a few minutes until it began to thicken and then poured into the crust. I chilled it in the fridge for several hours until after dinner. The inside setup perfectly. It was beautiful!

Responses

  1. Wow the dessert sounds so creative and unique! With fresh berries this summer, this sounds like a perfect dessert to make!

  2. Oh wow. yum. Very unique!

  3. It was a happy accident! My munchkin loved it & it was really light for the hot summer months.


Leave a Reply

Categories

