Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | June 18, 2008

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

I came across a post at Smitten Kitchen for Lattice-Topped Strawberry Rhubarb Pie. This was based on a Bon Appetit recipe from April 1997. While neither recipe was vegan, I only took that as a personal challenge =) As it is both strawberry and rhubarb season, this recipe was fate. I am not a big pie baker, and usually I make some kind of nut/oatmeal crust, because not only are they fabulously delicious, but easy and hard to mess up. However, I decided to man-up and give it a try! One of the tips from the Joy of Vegan Baking book I love is to put all the ingredients into the freezer for 30 minutes before processing. So – into the freezer went my sugar, salt, flour, water, vegan butter, and vegetable shortening.

For The Crust
3 cups all purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons sugar
3/4 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup vegetable shortening (cut before putting in freezer)
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons vegan butter (cut before putting in freezer)
10 tablespoons (about) ice water

I put the flour, sugar and salt in the processor & pulsed several times. Next I added the butter and shortening and pulsed until it was mixed (do NOT overmix) I added the ice water until little balls began to form. (I actually did not use enough of the water. I thought it was right, but when I was rolling it out, it was too dry.)

I placed the dough in a plastic bag and put in the fridge for 30 minutes.

I cut the dough in half and put one half between two pieces of parchment paper. I rolled it out & layed it into my pie pan. I repeated for the 2nd half the dough which I cut into strips for the pie top.

For The Filling
3 large stalks of rhubarb, cut into smaller pieces
1 16-oz strawberries, sliced
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup cornstarch
1 tsp ground cinnamon
pinch of sea salt

All of the filling ingredients are mixed together and then put into the crust. Top with the lattice strips (mine were just a little too dry to weave or crimp.)

I cooked it at 400 for 20 minutes. Then I brushed the top with a soy milk glaze and sprinkled with sugar. Oven temp is turned to 350 and baked for at least another 25 minutes, but up to another hour. I removed mine after the 25 minutes and my filling was slightly runny (even after sitting overnight.) Flavor was delicious!

I paired it with Dreena’s Cashew Banana Ice Cream which is so fast & tasty. Pre-freeze banana slices, then put in a food processor with cashews and maple syrup. Serve immediately, or refreeze.

I have pictures from the day of eating (not quite ready to be served, but delicious anyway) and the day after. It was great both times, but more photogenic the second time!

Responses

  1. The pie and ice cream looks yummy! I love frozen banana concoctions! And rhubarb pie my step dad would love – he’s from North Dakota where his family would grow rhubarb and make lots of pie with it.

  2. This is a very good recipe! I used brown sugar for eveything instead of granulated, because some don’t consider granulated sugar to be vegan. Otherwise, I enjoyed making this and my friends loved eating it! Thanks!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

