Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | June 18, 2008

Weekend Barbecue

The hot, sunny weekend required a big gut-busting barbecue. I dug out recipes & surfed the internet and this is the result.

Real Food Daily‘s Tempeh and Potato Salad. Yummy!!!

Next up was baked beans. This was inspired by a recipe somebody had posted from Lean, Luscious & Meatless. I did not have any navy beans soaked, so I used two cans of navy beans, I also added half an onion, 4 cloves of garlic, 1 tomato paste, brown sugar, molasses, apple cider vinegar, mustard powder, cracked black pepper, sea salt and a pinch of nutmeg. It simmered on the stove for about an hour until dinner was ready.

Oven-baked, breaded zucchini chips were next. This was a take-off on an epicurreous.com reicpe I found, Baked Zucchini Fries. I made three bowls again. In one bowl I added whole wheat pastry flour, sea salt and cracked pepper. In another bowl I mixed plain soy milk, apple cider vinegar and ground flax seed. I let it sit for about 10 minutes. The flax turns into the consistency of egg (without the yuckiness.) The third bowl had a mix of breadcrumbs, panko, ground cornflakes, paprika, garlic powder and sage. I thinly sliced the zucchini, pressed it into the flour mixture, dipped it into the flax-milk and then pressed it into the breadcrumbs. This went into the oven at 350 and baked for 20 -25 minutes. They were delicious!

A salad of local veggies rounded out the plate. Local tomatoes with fresh basil, red onion and balsamic vinegar, oh boy!

A vegan bratwurst and toasted bun was the final addition. Ewww-weee was I full!!!

Responses

  1. everything looks really awesome & tasty! i would have eaten every last bite and been full, too! especially with those bakes beans. mmmmmmmmmm! they sound so good!!

  2. They were!!! The good news was that it was all low-fat and healthy, so even though I ate a ton I didn’t feel yucky all night.


Leave a Reply

Categories

