Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | June 19, 2008

Hippy Dippy Pizza

The Irish Pizza was so good, that I wanted to make it again. I was lacking in the original ingredients, so I had to improvise. It turned into a hippy dippy pizza = )

The white sauce was included. I combined equal measures of vegan butter and flour. I mixed up a little almond milk and slowly poured this in. I added the milk 1/4 cup at a time & whisked. As it thickened I added another 1/4 cup. In all I added about 1 1/2 – 2 cups milk total. After it thickened to the consistency I wanted, I added a pinch of sea salt, a good bit of fresh ground cracked pepper, fresh thyme, rubbed sage and a dash of basil. I love me some good white sauce =)

I made Julie Hasson’s famous Spicy Italian Sausage – so good! I roasted a portabello mushroom.

I used the small amount of potato I had, but also included jicama. I boiled the sliced potato and jicamo for 2 minutes in salted water, drained and rinsed with cold water.

I thin sliced a sweet vidalia onion. I also wok-steamed collard greens for 5 minutes. After they were done, I patted them dry-ish and cut into very small pieces.

Finally I layered up the pizza – crust, white sauce, collards, italian sausage, onion, mushroom, potato and jicama and topped with vegan walnut parm, a pinch of sea salt, cracked pepper and fresh thyme. This was popped into the oven at 500 for 10 minutes. YUM!!! As weird as it all sounded, it tasted a lot like the first pizza. The jicama was slightly crunchier than the potato. All in all – delicious!

Responses

  1. I need to make this – it looks sooooo good. I love Irish-inspired food.

  2. It was REALLY good! My new favorite pizza is a toss-up between this one and the Thai Chicken.


Leave a Reply

Categories

