Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | June 19, 2008

Rasberry Rhubarb Oatmeal Bars

I had some fresh raspberries in the fridge, so I was shopping around for what I could make. My thoughts (of course) turned to dessert. I love cooking desserts! I found a recipe in the Joy of Vegan Baking for Raspberry Oatmeal Bars. It basically is an oatmeal sugary pressed base with a layer of jam (I used raspberry rhubarb jam fresh from the farmers market) and topped with the oatmeal sugary mixture. I added some chopped pecans to the top for mums who is a nut fanatic. As it was baking, I got out the fresh raspberries and HORROR!! They were moldy…. I tell you eating fresh fruits and veggies in Alaska is an excercise in frustration and high spending. I dug out some frozen raspberries for the top, but it was not the same. It was still pretty, and tasted great, but the disappointment of another moldy fruit weighed on my enthusiasm =()

Responses

  1. mmmm


Leave a Reply

Categories

