Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | July 1, 2008

Eggplant Lasagna

As I continue my journey to incorporate new (and previously snubbed) vegetables I decided to try to cook something with Eggplant. I used a recipe from The Candle Cafe’s – Eggplant and Zucchini Lasagna. I did not have any Zucchini, so I stuck with Eggplant roasted in the oven with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I used some of my Farmer’s Market Tomatoes to make a homemade marinara that was stupendous! I also modified the herb ricotta by adding fresh baby spinach and a couple pinches of nutritional yeast. I layered the lasagna with noodles, spinach ricotta, roasted eggplant, marinara and then sauteed onion and mushrooms. I topped the final round of noodles with a modified pine nut cream. I remembered making a version of this recipe from Veganomicon. For my version I used 1/2 cup pine nuts, 1/2 cup soy milk, squirt of lemon juice, dash of sage and 2 T wasabi powder. I spread this on top of the noodles and baked everything for 45 minutes. It was good! I actually found the eggplant palatable! Victory was mine!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

