Posted by: alaskaVeg*n | August 3, 2008

I’m Back

Sorry guys! Between the REALLY LONG drive down the Alcan (6 DAYS), settling into the new house with munchkin, unpacking, restocking a kitchen o’ plenty, getting proper internet access and discovering that the mid-90’s in the midwest is really freaking hot – I am just getting back to this… I have been cooking (a little), but more importantly I have been eating the most enormous quantity of locally grown fruits and vegetables (especially watermelon – my favorite!) I also just got a new juicer (Breville – works great!)

I have a few more weeks until school gets under way and hope to do a little cooking and more acclimating. Since I am in the corn belt (is there such a thing?), I have been making plenty of salads with fresh corn. This one is particularly delicious – corn, tomatoes, onion, basil and sage with a few drops of balsamic vinager – Delic!!!!

Here’s a delicious heaping plate of wheat spaghetti, fresh green beans and a garlic bagel.

I also tried out Vegan Dad’s Reuben on a Great Harvest Bread’s Marble Rye with a side of Walnut Miso Green Beans.

I made Vegan Yum Yum’s recipe for Smoky Miso Tofu.

Here are some roasted garlic and zucchini slices fresh from the wonderful neighbors garden to my oven =)

Finally – a dessert. Local blueberries made into a blueberry crumble. Scrumptious!

Responses

  1. welcome back! i’ve missed your wonderful posts!

    glad to see so many great pictures of all the awesome goodies you’ve been cooking and creating! the corn salad looks divine, the tofu looks perfect, the blueberry crumble = mmmmm! and those roasted zucchini slices are making me huuuungry! hooooooray for all the local goodies you’ve been enjoying, too! local foods rock so hard!

    i’m so happy you’re back! superw00t!

  2. Thank you! Glad to be back!

  3. Oh my! Everything on that post looks great. Corn salad, yum. And the blueberries – they have been so good this year. Glad you are settling into the new place.

  4. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

